Skip to content

True Crime

WLBT’s court story calls him Eddie Collier and says he was on house arrest. Its night story calls him Eddie Collier Jr. and says that house arrest ended in September 2025.

WAPT, by Nicholas Brooks, updated at 6:33 p.m. CST on Nov. 6, 2026, says Eddie Collier Jr., 22, was arrested Thursday on two counts of capital murder and seven counts of aggravated assault. It says Lovdai Poindexter, 20, and Jada Henderson, 18, were killed, and that bond on the assault counts is $3.5 million cumulatively. WLBT’s morning court story does not print Jr. It says Judge Jeffrey Reynolds set that bond at $3.5 million, or $500,000 per count.

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer ·

Booking photo of Eddie Collier Jr.
Photo: Hinds County Sheriff's Office

Six injured, and seven wounded, are not the same number. Four injured, and six injured, are not the same number. Eddie Collier, and Eddie Collier Jr., are not the same name line. House arrest with an ankle monitor, and a house-arrest sentence that ended in September 2025, are not the same status. $3.5 million, or $500,000 per count, and $3.5 million cumulatively, are not the same bond line. A charge is not a conviction.

WLBT, by Lauren Harvey, Verlecia Gavin and Anthony Warren, published Nov. 6, 2026, at 10:03 a.m. CST and updated at 11:21 a.m. CST, reported that on Friday Eddie Collier appeared in Jackson Municipal Court and was charged with two counts of capital murder and seven counts of aggravated assault, for allegedly shooting and killing two people and wounding seven others at a Halloween party at the Hideaway nightclub. It reported Judge Jeffrey Reynolds denied bond on the capital murder counts and set bond at $3.5 million for the aggravated assault charges, or $500,000 per count. It called him a Brandon man and a 22-year-old, said the case is being transferred to the Hinds County Court, and said he is being held at the Hinds County Detention Center. It did not print Jr. WAPT’s story, updated at 6:33 p.m. CST the same day, reported Eddie Collier Jr., 22, was arrested Thursday and charged with those same two counts and seven counts, that bond was denied on the capital murder charges, and that bond was set at $3.5 million cumulatively for the aggravated assault charges. Thursday, and Friday, are not the same day. Eddie Collier, and Eddie Collier Jr., are not the same name line. $3.5 million cumulatively, and $3.5 million, or $500,000 per count, are not the same bond line. WAPT does not print the judge, the municipal court, the Hinds County Court, or the detention center. WLBT, by Alex Love, published Nov. 6 at 10:48 p.m. CST, with the page marked updated 20 hours later, reported Eddie Collier Jr. was denied bond on two capital murder charges and faces seven counts of aggravated assault. It called him the first suspect arrested. It did not print a dollar amount, a judge, or an age. WLBT’s press-conference story, by Alex Love, Verlecia Gavin and Anthony Warren, published Nov. 6 at 1:55 p.m. CST, reported the same two counts and seven counts and did not print the bond.

The injured count is not one count. WLBT, by Jas N Smith, published Nov. 1, 2026, at 6:38 a.m. CDT and updated at 10:54 p.m. CST, reported two people were killed and six others were injured, and that the six were four females, ages 18, 18, 19 and 20, and two males, ages 19 and 20. CDT, and CST, are not the same zone, and both are on that page. WAPT, by Tiara Leflore and Sam Furman, updated at 2:16 p.m. CST on Nov. 2, used the headline “Two killed, six injured.” The page title on that story is “2 JSU students killed, 4 injured.” Two Jackson State students, in the page title, and one Jackson State student in the body, are not the same count. Four injured, in that page title, and six injured, in the headline, are not the same number. The body reported four women, ages 18, 18, 19 and 20, and two men, ages 19 and 20, and injuries that appear to be non-life-threatening. Females, and women, are not the same word. Males, and men, are not the same word. WAPT, by Nicholas Brooks, updated at 7:18 p.m. CST on Nov. 2, reported two of the six people who were injured remain hospitalized and four have been released. Non-life-threatening, and still hospitalized, are not the same condition. The Nov. 6 arrest stories say seven. WAPT’s arrest story says killed two and wounded seven, and the page title says killed 2, injured 7. Wounded, and injured, are not the same word, and both are on that page. Its quotation from Chief RaShall Brackney says seven others are injured. WLBT’s court story says wounding seven others, and it also says, “Initially, police initially knew of six individuals being shot or killed, a number that has since increased.” Six individuals shot or killed, and six injured, and seven wounded, are not the same count. An embedded image in the press-conference story has the alt text “Two dead, four injured in shooting at Jackson nightclub.” The same story later says seven others were injured. Four, and seven, are not the same number. The Nov. 6 stories do not reprint the ages. No outlet used here names the injured.

The dead are named, and the home towns are not on every page. WLBT’s Nov. 1 story and its court story reported 20-year-old Lovdai Poindexter and 18-year-old Jada Henderson were killed. WAPT’s Nov. 2 Leflore story reported both were pronounced dead at the scene, and it called Henderson a JSU student. WAPT’s later Nov. 2 story reported Lovdai Poindexter, 20, of Brandon, and Jada Henderson, an 18-year-old Jackson State student from Atlanta. Of Brandon, and from Atlanta, are not on the Nov. 6 arrest stories. A Brandon man, in WLBT’s court story, is Collier. Brandon, on Poindexter, and Brandon, on Collier, are not the same residence line, and they are not in the same sentence. The court story says a detective told the court Jackson police got the call at approximately 1:10 a.m. Sunday, found two people shot and killed, and that others were taken to the University of Mississippi Medical Center and St. Dominic Hospital. It says Collier was identified by multiple people through a photo lineup. WAPT’s Nov. 2 Leflore story says approximately 1 a.m. Sunday, Nov. 1, at the Hideaway Night Club in the 5100 block of Interstate 55 North Frontage Road. 1 a.m., and 1:10 a.m., are not the same minute. Hideaway Night Club, Hideaway nightclub, the Hideaway Club, and the Hideaway, are not the same name. Interstate 55, and I-55, are not the same spelling. WAPT’s arrest story says the nightclub on the I-55 frontage road and does not print 5100. The press-conference story says the venue is inside Deville Plaza at 5100 I-55 North Frontage Road and has since ceased operations. WAPT’s Nov. 2 Brooks story says Mayor John Horhn said the club’s operations are currently suspended. Suspended, and ceased operations, are not the same status. A Halloween party, on the court story, and a Halloween costume party, on WAPT’s Nov. 2 stories, are not the same phrase.

Who came through the door is not one account. WLBT’s Nov. 1 story reported two unidentified male suspects entered wearing ski masks and one produced a firearm and opened fire. WAPT’s Leflore story reported two unidentified men wearing ski masks, and that at least one pulled out a gun and opened fire on a crowd on the dance floor. A firearm, and a gun, are not the same word. WAPT’s Brooks story that evening reported Brackney said the suspects were armed with high-powered rifles. High-powered rifles, and a gun, are not the same weapon. WAPT’s arrest story reported police said two masked men entered and at least one opened fire. Masked, and ski masks, are not the same word. WLBT’s court story reported police say Collier paid the security guard an extra $20 so he could get in with a weapon, that the club was at capacity, and that a promoter and a security guard let him in through the back door. It reported the detective told the court Collier noticed someone flashing cash, attempted to rob him, that one of the victims tried to knock the gun down, and that Collier then opened fire, hitting that victim four times. The press-conference story reported he paid a security guard $20 to bring in a firearm. An extra $20, and $20, are not the same phrase. A weapon, and a firearm, are not the same word. WAPT’s arrest story does not print the $20. The court story reported a lawsuit filed Thursday against the Hideaway’s owners said two shooters entered, both armed with rifles and ski masks, “seeking out certain individuals with whom they had a previous conflict earlier in the evening,” and that no motives were mentioned in court. The press-conference story reported the city filed a complaint Thursday in Hinds County Chancery Court, that the Hideaway is owned by Deville Entertainment LLC and Weldon Vineyard, and that the suit says two masked suspects entered seeking certain individuals. It reported the chief would not confirm whether that was the case and was unaware the city had filed a complaint. Two shooters armed with rifles and ski masks, and two masked suspects, are not the same description. A lawsuit the court story treats as revealing two shooters, and a complaint the chief was unaware of, are not the same use of the filing. Love’s night story reported Brackney would not confirm additional leads in the search for a potential second shooter. Would not confirm additional leads, and would not confirm the lawsuit’s account, are not the same sentence.

The record is where the station does not agree with itself. The court story reported police say Collier was on house arrest for a Rankin County incident and was wearing an ankle monitor, and it quoted the detective: “He just got out of jail in early October. He had an ankle monitor on, but he was not charging it.” It reported a 2021 arrest for burglary and armed robbery, another burglary arrest the following year, a felony hold for auto theft, a 2026 arrest for an illegal switch on a gun, and an October 2026 arrest on an illegal drug charge and felony carrying of a firearm. The press-conference story reported a detective testified he was wearing an ankle monitor and had not been keeping it charged, and it quoted the chief: “We can confirm that he had a monitor on... We can confirm that it was not an ankle monitor that would have been related to [MDOC].” An ankle monitor, and a monitor the chief said was not an MDOC ankle monitor, are not the same device in those two sentences. Love’s night story reported the 2022 Rankin County case was an indictment for armed robbery and home invasion, that he pleaded guilty to a lesser drug conspiracy felony, that the other charges were dropped, and that the house-arrest sentence ended in September 2025. It reported he was still on supervised probation when the shooting happened. Early October, and September 2025, are not the same month. On house arrest, and a house-arrest sentence that ended in September 2025, are not the same status. The press-conference story says, “It’s unclear what Collier has been convicted of and why he was on probation.” A guilty plea to a drug conspiracy felony, and a story that says it is unclear what he has been convicted of, are not the same record. Love’s night story, citing the Rankin County Prosecutor’s Office, listed encounters since 2022 with Richland, Brandon and Pearl police and the Rankin County Sheriff’s Office. WAPT’s arrest story listed arrests in Richland, Pearl and Ridgeland. Brandon, and Ridgeland, are not the same city. The Rankin County Sheriff’s Office is on the night story’s list and not in WAPT’s sentence. The press-conference story reported two of three 2026 arrests were by Ridgeland police for being a convicted felon in possession of a firearm. The night story reported allegations he possessed a weapon as a felon in Pearl and Ridgeland, and it quoted Brackney on encounters in June, September, and October. Two Ridgeland arrests, and allegations in Pearl and Ridgeland, are not the same list. June, September, and October are three months. Three arrests are a count.

The quotations do not match either. The press-conference story quoted Brackney, “Our records have reviewed that he has a controlled substance arrest, burglary arrest, possession of a firearm while in possession of controlled substances, carrying a concealed weapon, having a switch or conversion device, multiple weapons-related offenses.” The night story quoted her, “Our records have reviewed that he has a controlled substance arrest, burglary arrests, and possession of a firearm while in possession of controlled substances.” Burglary arrest, and burglary arrests, are not the same word. The switch and the concealed weapon are in the afternoon quotation and not in the night quotation. WAPT reported the arrests were for controlled substances, carrying a concealed weapon, having a switch or conversion device, and multiple weapons-related offenses. Controlled substances, and a controlled substance arrest, are not the same phrase. Burglary is not in that WAPT sentence. The press-conference story quoted, “Our review has also indicated that Collier has not reported to his probation officer since July of this year,” he said. WAPT reported Brackney said he had not reported since July. He said, and Brackney said, are not the same attribution. July, and July of this year, are not the same phrase. The night story reported Jackson police said he had not reported since July, and it quoted, “I am not shifting blame from Eddie Collier Jr., but I am saying there is shared accountability.” The press-conference story quoted, “But I am saying there is a shared accountability.” Shared accountability, and a shared accountability, are not the same phrase. WAPT quoted, “But I am here to say that when two people lose their lives and seven others are injured.” That sentence is not the shared-accountability sentence. The night story quoted Kelly Bullard, a friend of the family, “She has literally been in school for two months and now we’re having to take her home,” and, “Brought her down here for school as an 18-year-old and now we’re taking her home in a box of ashes,” and, “He goes in a club and kills two innocent people and then shot multiple people.” The court story quoted Kelli Bullard, first lady of Community Fellowship Baptist Church, Henderson’s church, “This young lady was brought here to run track ... She has literally been in school for two months, and now we’re taking home a box of ashes,” and, “What is wrong with this system?” Kelly, and Kelli, are not the same spelling. A friend of the family, and the first lady of a church, are not the same identification. We’re having to take her home, and we’re taking home a box of ashes, are not the same sentence. Those are her words as each story printed them. They are not a verdict. A charge is not a conviction. All defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

Share on XEmail

Get the take when the jury is out, the Court drops an order, or we go live.

Shop

Checkout is on Shopify. A few from the rack:

All merch

More on the desk

Photo of Scott Strauss
True Crime

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer

KATV says police charged Scott Strauss on Saturday evening with Murder in the First Degree. THV11's page, stamped 2:28 p.m. CST Saturday, says he was charged.

Murder in the First Degree, and Murder in the first degree, and first-degree murder, and murder, are not the same charge line. Tampering with Physical Evidence, and tampering with physical evidence, are not the same case. Saturday evening, and 2:28 p.m. CST, and Saturday morning, are not the same clock. In the area of Village Way, and near Village Way, are not the same line. A charge is not a conviction.

Read the take

Reporting noted by KATV and THV11.

True Crime

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer

12News says Jacob Dylan Middlebrook and Layne Justine McIntosh face second-degree homicide charges. Havasu News says suspicion of murder.

Second-degree homicide charges, and the charge of second degree homicide, and suspicion of murder, and suspicion of second-degree murder, are not the same charge line. Before noon, and about 11:45 a.m., are not the same clock. Near Silver Creek Road and Bullhead Parkway, and the 3100 block of Silver Creek Road, about one mile east, are not the same block. Found dead, and stabbed to death, and multiple stab wounds, are not the same line. A Bullhead City transient, and a homeless man from Bullhead City, are not the same word. A charge is not a conviction.

Read the take

Reporting noted by 12News, Havasu News, and Mohave Valley News.

True Crime

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer

WJLA says Judge Neal Kravitz found Jaime Macedo guilty of voluntary manslaughter while armed. NBC4 says he pleaded guilty to manslaughter.

Voluntary manslaughter while armed, and voluntary manslaughter, and manslaughter, are not the same count. A bench outside Father O'Connell Hall, and a park on the campus, and a small plaza by that hall, and the 600 block of Alumni Lane, are not the same place. Brookland-CUA Metro, and Brookland Metro, and Brookland-Catholic University Metro, are not the same station line. Snapchat messages, and a message, and an urgent message, are not the same account. Cash App, and cash app, and $300 with no app named, are not the same line. Judge Kravitz accepted the plea and found Jaime Macedo guilty of voluntary manslaughter while armed. A 12-to-15-year range is not the sentence. Sentencing has not happened.

Read the take

Reporting noted by WJLA, NBC4, WTOP, Washington Times, and WUSA9.