Skip to content

True Crime

Gwinnett County police charged Tanika Tavares with felony murder after a Lawrenceville overdose death.

FOX 5 Atlanta and Atlanta News First reported Monday, Oct. 26, 2026, that Tanika Tavares, 48, was arrested after an Oct. 13 overdose in the 1100 block of Wetlands Court in Lawrenceville. WSB-TV and 11Alive reported the same arrest and the same charges. Police have not named the person who died.

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer · · Updated

Booking photo of Tanika Tavares
Photo: FOX 5 Atlanta

The counts are what those stations say Gwinnett County police filed. They are not a finding that Tavares supplied a drug, and they are not a finding that a drug caused the death. The manslaughter count names fentanyl. FOX 5 reported in the same story that police have not specified the chemical composition or the quantity. No station printed the other drug counts, a bond, or a court date.

WSB-TV, FOX 5 Atlanta, Atlanta News First, and 11Alive reported Monday, Oct. 26, 2026, that Gwinnett County police arrested Tanika Tavares after an overdose death in Lawrenceville. FOX 5 reported detectives arrested 48-year-old Tanika Tavares. Atlanta News First reported investigators identified Tanika Tavares, 48. WSB-TV reported a 48-year-old woman has been charged and that Tanika Tavares was arrested. 11Alive reported a 48-year-old woman has been arrested and that Tanika Tavares was taken into custody. Those two stories put the age and the name in different sentences. WSB-TV, by Sabrina Castro at 9:23 p.m. EDT, reported she was arrested after detectives identified her as the suspected source of narcotics connected to the victim's death. FOX 5, at 4:40 p.m. EDT, 11Alive, by Reeves Jackson at 2:55 p.m. EDT, and Atlanta News First, at 3:10 p.m. EDT, reported the same identification. "Suspected source" is the police description those stations used. It is not a finding that she sold anything.

The call they all place on Oct. 13 is the same block. WSB-TV reported officers responded to a home in the 1100 block of Wetlands Court in Lawrenceville regarding an overdose and that the victim was pronounced dead at the scene. FOX 5 reported officers responded to a home in that block and found a victim dead from an overdose. Atlanta News First reported officers responded that day to a home in the 1100 block and that the victim was pronounced dead from an overdose. 11Alive reported the death occurred that day at a residence in the 1100 block and that the victim was pronounced dead. WSB-TV's "at the scene" is WSB-TV's phrase. The others did not print it. WSB-TV, FOX 5, and 11Alive reported the Special Investigations Section investigated. Atlanta News First said investigators, and did not name the unit.

The charge list is where the four stations sit together, with small differences in wording. WSB-TV, Atlanta News First, and 11Alive reported felony murder, aggravated involuntary manslaughter by causing a fentanyl overdose death, sale of a Schedule I or II controlled substance, and additional drug-related offenses. FOX 5 reported the same list and worded the manslaughter count as causing fentanyl overdose death, without the article "a," and it said additional drug offenses rather than additional drug-related offenses. None of the four named those additional offenses. FOX 5 reported she remains in custody. The others reported she was taken into custody and did not add a later custody line. No station in this file printed a bond or a court date.

The person who died is unnamed in all four. FOX 5 reported police have not released the identity or age of the person who died on Oct. 13, and that authorities have not specified the chemical composition or quantity of the drugs. WSB-TV reported the department did not release additional details about the victim or the investigation. The fentanyl in the manslaughter count's title, and FOX 5's report that the composition was not specified, are both in that station's story. This file does not treat the charge title as a laboratory result. The felony murder count and the manslaughter count are the accusations those stations reported. All defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

Share on XEmail

Get the take when the jury is out, the Court drops an order, or we go live.

Shop

Checkout is on Shopify. A few from the rack:

All merch

More on the desk

Booking photo of Edgar Berlanga
True Crime

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer

Lakeland police charged boxer Edgar Berlanga with aggravated battery after an Oct. 18 argument in Polk County.

The two counts are charges from an Oct. 18 allegation. BoxingScene has the charge titles, the bail, and the arraignment time. The New York Post has the affidavit's account of a pistol and a woman who got away to a 7-Eleven. An affidavit is not a conviction. She is not named here.

Read the take

Reporting noted by BoxingScene, New York Post, and California Post.

True Crime

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer

An FBI agent fatally shot Chadwick Clark during a Dixmoor warrant operation, and the FBI says the shooting is under review.

The FBI account is an agent-involved shooting, one person dead, no agent hurt, and an internal review. The family's account that Clark was unarmed, and a police source's count of people in custody, are not in the FBI statement. A review is not a charge.

Read the take

Reporting noted by Chicago Sun-Times, NBC Chicago, FOX 32 Chicago, ABC7 Chicago, and FBI.

Edwin Brant Frost IV seated at a table in a suit
True Crime

By Crime Talk Network Staff Writer

Chief Judge Leigh Martin May sentenced Edwin Brant Frost IV to 15 years in the First Liberty fraud.

Monday's term is the sentence on a guilty plea to one count of wire fraud. It is not a jury verdict. The U.S. Attorney's Office, FOX 5 Atlanta, and The Citizen print the same restitution figure. The Newnan Times-Herald prints a figure that is fifty dollars lower.

Read the take

Reporting noted by U.S. Attorney's Office for the Northern District of Georgia, FDIC Office of Inspector General, FOX 5 Atlanta, The Citizen, and Newnan Times-Herald.